All you need to know about NEET-2016

The Supreme Court on April 28 approved a single entrance examination for admissions to (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) and BDS (Bachelor of Dental Surgery) courses in government and private medical colleges in India in 2016-17.

The government has also given its go ahead to the examination – National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) 2016-17.

Many states including Tamil Nadu, Association of Karnataka Medical Colleges and CMC Vellore opposed the decision to hold the examination.

On May 6, however, the apex court made it clear that the private colleges, associations and deemed universities would not be allowed to hold their own undergraduate medical and dental entrance examinations. Admission to these colleges will be only through NEET, the SC said.

In an interesting turn of event, the Medical Council of India (MCI) however on May 6 asked the apex court to allow the states to conduct separate medical admission tests for 2016-17.

Here are some important facts you need to know about the NEET:

1. All India Pre-Medical Test (AIPMT) held on May 1 was considered as the first phase of the NEET.

2. The second phase of the examination will be held on July 24 for those who did not apply for the AIPMT.

3. The decision was taken to do away with all entrance examination for admissions to undergraduate medical courses.

4. The common results for the NEET will be announced on August 17.

5. The admission process, based on the single test will be over by September 30.

6. Around 6.5 lakh aspirants appeared for the first phase of NEET while 2.5 lakh students are likely to appear for the second phase of the NEET.

7. The NEET was introduced by the Medical Council of India (MCI) and Dental Council of India (DCI) for admissions to undergraduate and post-graduate medical courses in 2012.

The move was aimed to eliminate many entrance examinations and alleged corruption.

8. The NEET was earlier scrapped in 2013 by the apex court following objections from various states on the vast difference in the syllabus.

9. From next year, NEET will have only one level.

10. Tamil Nadu is among those opposing NEET as the state has been offering admission to medical courses on the basis of marks obtained in Class 12 since 2007.

11. Before the supreme court decision, there were around 72 exams being conducted for admissions to medical courses.

Big Wire

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top