10 things about India’s first Poker League

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Poker League
After cricket, kabaddi, football and hockey, India is all set to host its indigenous poker league.

Brain child of FMCG major Dabur’s vice chairman Amit Burman, the first season of the Poker Sports League (PSL) is likely to kick off early next year.

Here are 10 things that you may want to know about the tournament:

1. There will be a total of 12 teams with 108 players. If you want to be a part of any teams or be up to speed with information on the league, then you may first need to register as a player for PSL.

2. The teams, yet to be named, will be listed under Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Goa, Rajasthan, Chennai, Pune, Shimla, Gujarat and Punjab.

3. According to reports some of the teams have already been sold to several prominent business magnets. The allotment of franchisees will be reportedly over by January.

4. Collecting funds for promoting the Poker League will begin with Burman pouring Rs 10-12 crore initially, followed by each team owner investing Rs 70-100 crore over the next 10 years.

5. The prize money is worth Rs 3.36 crore.

6. There will be no gambling involved in the league of this skill-based card game.

7. February onwards, players for the contesting teams will be selected through over 70 qualifying rounds from across cities. Selections will also be held via online.

8. The selection process will be held over nearly three months.

9. The finals will be hosted in Goa, spanning over five days.

10. Finals of the first season of Poker League will be telecast only on YouTube and Facebook.

Big Wire


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top